Obama Excludes Seven Republican States in Nationwide Travels

When President Barack Obama makes his inaugural trip to Vermont tomorrow he’ll be checking off one of eight U.S. states he has yet to visit since taking office.

In an election-year presidents want to show they’re connected to their constituents by telling voters on the stump that they’ve visited every, or almost every, state. The president still has seven more states to go before November.

Excluding Vermont Obama didn’t win any of the states he has yet to visit: North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Idaho, Utah, Arkansas, and South Carolina.

“The states that presidents visit least tend to be small, non-competitive, Republican-leaning, and often well removed geographically from Washington, D.C.,” according to an excerpt from U.S. Naval Academy political science professor Brendan Doherty’s forthcoming book, “The Rise of the President’s Permanent Campaign.”

“There is a good deal of overlap in the states that presidents of both parties rarely visit.”

Tomorrow Obama will raise at least $1.7 million for his re-election campaign during four fundraisers in Burlington, Vermont and Portland, Maine. He won Vermont by a whopping 37 percentage points and Maine by 18 in 2008. He’s visited Maine twice since taking office, including a July 2010 family vacation to Acadia National Park.

Margaret Talev contributed to this post.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!