Ohio’s LaTourette Retiring Thins 1994 House Republican Class

Photograph by Tom Williams/Roll Call/Getty Images

Rep. Steve LaTourette during a news conference conference in the Capitol Visitor Center, where he accused the Senate Democrats’ of inaction on the House-passed FAA extension bill.

Add Ohio Republican Steve LaTourette to the list of House members not seeking re-election who was a member of the huge Republican freshman class of 1994.

Remember them? The 73 House Republicans first elected 18 Novembers ago, when Republicans ended Democrats’ four-decade reign and Newt Gingrich became Speaker?

Their ranks have thinned considerably through retirements, election defeats, campaigns for other offices and even embarrassing resignations (think Bob Ney and John Ensign). They’ve been overshadowed and vastly outnumbered by the batch of 87 House Republicans first elected in 2010, when the party wrested House control from the Democrats with even bigger gains than they made in 1994.

With LaTourette’s departure, just seven of the 73 Republicans first elected to the House in 1994 — and have served continuously since then — are seeking new terms this November. They are Rodney Frelinghuysen of New Jersey, Doc Hastings of Washington, Walter Jones of North Carolina, Tom Latham of Iowa, Frank LoBiondo of New Jersey, Mac Thornberry of Texas and Ed Whitfield of Kentucky. Latham is the only one of the seven who faces a tough race in the fall.

Sue Myrick of North Carolina joins LaTourette in heading for the exits. Five members of that class are now U.S. Senators — Saxby Chambliss of Georgia, Lindsey Graham of South Carolina, Richard Burr of North Carolina, Roger Wicker of Mississippi and Tom Coburn of Oklahoma.

Updated 9:46 a.m. 8/1


What do you think about this article? Comment below!