Bloomberg by the Numbers: 88

Photograph by Jae C. Hong/AP Photo

Michigan delegate Linda Lee Tarver shows off her ring at the Republican National Convention in Tampa.

That’s the number of years since a Republican won a presidential election without carrying Florida. The last time it happened was in 1924, when Calvin Coolidge won the White House race despite losing Florida to Democratic challenger John Davis. Since Coolidge, Republicans have won 10 presidential elections, prevailing in Florida every time.

The Republican National Convention in Tampa underscores the importance party strategists place on winning the state, which backed President Barack Obama four years ago by three percentage points. Florida is the biggest swing state, with 29 electoral votes at stake in the Nov. 6 election.

Florida has usually sided with the White House winner, missing just once in the past 12 elections. The aberration was 1992, when Florida backed George H.W. Bush by fewer than two percentage points over the victor, Bill Clinton.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!