Bloomberg by the Numbers: 18

That’s how many years it’s been since a Republican last won a U.S. House election in Massachusetts.

Republicans Peter Blute and Peter Torkildsen were first elected to Congress in 1992, re-elected in 1994 and then defeated in 1996. Blute lost to Democrat Jim McGovern, and Torkildsen was felled by Democrat John Tierney. Both McGovern and Tierney continue to serve today.

Republicans made a determined effort to unseat Tierney on Nov. 6, though he prevailed by one percentage point over Republican Richard Tisei, a former state senator. Democrats won all nine House seats and also unseated Republican Scott Brown from the Senate.



What do you think about this article? Comment below!