Norquist’s Anti-Tax Signers: House-Majority Still, as Roster Shrinks

Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform, at the 2012 Republican National Convention. Photograph by Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call

Everyone knows about Grover Norquist’s no-new-taxes pledge.

That line in the sand that many members of Congress, almost all Republican, have signed — a complicating factor in any talks going forward about averting the “fiscal cliff” or addressing “tax reform” in the year ahead.

What you may not know is this:

They will still represent a slim majority of the House in 2013, though their roster is shrinking.

In the 113th Congress that will convene in January, 219 of the 435 House members have signed the pledge, according to the count of Norquist’s Americans for Tax Reform. In the new Senate, 39 of the 100 senators are signers.

In the 112th Congress finishing its lame-duck business, there are 238 signers of Norquist’s pledge in the House, 41 in the Senate.

For the record, that vow reads like this: “I, _, pledge to the taxpayers of the district of the state of and to the American people that I will: One, oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses; and Two, oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”



What do you think about this article? Comment below!