Bloomberg by the Numbers: 20

Photograph by Alex Wong/Getty Images

Sen. Kay Hagan during the final day of the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina.

That’s the number of Democratic senators whose terms expire at the end of 2014.

Seven of those 20 Democrats represent states that voted for Republican Mitt Romney over President Barack Obama in the Nov. 6 election. The seven are Mark Begich of Alaska, Mark Pryor of Arkansas, Max Baucus of Montana, Kay Hagan of North Carolina, Tim Johnson of South Dakota, Mary Landrieu of Louisiana and Jay Rockefeller of West Virginia.

“Senate Democrats, optimistic about prospects for a deficit-reduction deal, may have to contend with wariness” from the seven Democratic senators, Bloomberg’s Kathleen Hunter reported yesterday.

Thirteen Republican senators are up for re-election in 2014, including party leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky. Susan Collins of Maine is the only senator in that group whose state voted for Obama on Nov. 6.

Democrats will control 55 Senate seats when the 113th Congress convenes in January.


What do you think about this article? Comment below!