Who Opposed Palestine’s Upgrade?

Photograph by Patrick Baz/AFP via Getty Images

Palestinians celebrate in Gaza City, early on Nov. 30, 2012, after the UN General Assembly voted to upgrade them to a non-member state observer.

Of the 147 countries that voted in today’s United Nations General Assembly decision to upgrade Palestine to an “observer state,” 138 members voted in favor, while nine members voted against it.

Who were the nine?

The U.S., Israel, Canada, Panama, Czech Republic, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru and Palau.

That means half the countries allying with Israel on the vote have a combined population of just over 205,000 — approximately the same population as the city of Des Moines, Iowa.

Micronesia’s population is 106,487, Marshall Islands’ 68,480, Palau’s 21,032 and Nauru’s 9,378.

 Read Flavia Krause-Jackson’s full story on the vote here.

Populations found in the CIA World Factbook and the U.S. Census






What do you think about this article? Comment below!