Bloomberg by the Numbers: 75

Photograph by Paul J. Richards/AFP via Getty Images

Alexander Hamilton, the U.S.'s first Treasury secretary, at left here on the ten dollar bill.

That’s how many Treasury secretaries have served the nation since the office was established in 1789.

President Barack Obama today will nominate White House Chief of Staff Jack Lew to succeed Treasury Secretary Timothy F. Geithner, Bloomberg’s Hans Nichols first reported. Be sure to read this profile of Lew by Bloomberg’s Julianna Goldman.

Alexander Hamilton was the first Treasury secretary, serving from 1789 to 1795 under George Washington. Others include Andrew W. Mellon, who served under Presidents Warren Harding, Calvin Coolidge and Herbert Hoover, and James A. Baker III, who served under Ronald Reagan.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!