Ten Closest House Races of 2012 — Starting With 654 Votes

Photograph by Pete Marovich/Bloomberg

The 113th Congress on the steps of the Capitol in Washington.

The would-be members of Congress thinking about running in the 2014 elections include some who narrowly lost in November’s elections.

Following are the 10 closest House races of the 2012 election, according to data compiled by Political Capital from state election officials. The races are sorted by the winner’s percentage point margin of victory, with the closest race listed first. The winner’s percentage point and vote margins of victory are noted parenthetically.

1. North Carolina’s 7th (0.2%, 654 votes): Democrat Mike McIntyre won a ninth term against Republican state senator David Rouzer in a district redrawn by Republicans. Rouzer is weighing a rematch.

2. Utah’s 4th (0.3%, 768 votes): Democrat Jim Matheson survived a Republican redrawing of district lines, winning a seventh term by beating Republican Mia Love in a district that gave 67 percent of its votes to Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney. Love, a mayor, was touted by Republican officials and had a speaking slot at the Republican National Convention in Tampa, Florida.

3. Illinois’ 13th (0.3%, 1,002 votes): Republican Rodney Davis, a former congressional aide, beat Democrat David Gill in a Springfield-area district that Republican Tim Johnson left open to retire.

4. Michigan’s 1st (0.5%, 1,881 votes): Republican Dan Benishek won a second term against Democrat Gary McDowell in a rematch of their 2010 race in the far northern reaches of the state.

5. Florida’s 18th (0.6%, 1,904 votes): Democrat Patrick Murphy prevailed over one-term Republican Allen West, who had a $19 million campaign fund — and a history of controversial comments.

6. Arizona’s 2nd (0.8%, 2,454 votes): Democrat Ron Barber beat Republican Martha McSally to win a first full term in a Tucson-area district previously held by Democrat Gabrielle Giffords, who was seriously wounded in a January 2011 shooting that also injured Barber.

7. Massachusetts’ 6th (1.2%, 4,330 votes): Democrat John Tierney won a ninth term against Republican Richard Tisei, a former state legislator, in a district that takes in northeastern Massachusetts.

8. Minnesota’s 6th (1.2%, 4,296 votes): Republican Michele Bachmann won a fourth term after a failed campaign for her party’s presidential nomination. Bachmann, who beat Democratic businessman Jim Graves, may have been saved by the redistricting process, which made her district near the Twin Cities even more Republican-leaning. Bachmann ran well behind Romney, who won her district with 56 percent.

9. Illinois’ 10th (1.3%, 3,326 votes): In a suburban district north of Chicago, Democrat Brad Schneider unseated one-term Republican Bob Dold, who was a victim of a Democratic-controlled redistricting process.

10. Indiana’s 2nd (1.4%, 3,920 votes): Republican Jackie Walorski, a former state legislator, beat Democrat Brendan Mullen to win the South Bend-area district that Democrat Joe Donnelly gave up to pursue a Senate campaign that was successful.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!