Bloomberg by the Numbers: 57

That’s how many presidential inaugurations will have been held after today’s public ceremony for President Barack Obama, starting his second term.

Obama took the oath of office yesterday, per the 20th Amendment. Because yesterday was a Sunday, the inaugural ceremony was scheduled for today. The president will deliver his second inaugural address.

The first inauguration was held in 1789 in New York for George Washington. John Adams, inaugurated as the second president in Philadelphia in 1797, was the first president to receive the oath of office from the Chief Justice of the United States. His successor, Thomas Jefferson, was the first to be inaugurated in Washington.




What do you think about this article? Comment below!