Bloomberg by the Numbers: 7

Photograph by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

Sen. Jay Rockefeller participates in a news conference about preserving Medicaid funding on Capitol Hill.

That’s how many states Democrats are defending in Senate elections next year that President Barack Obama didn’t win in 2012.

The seven states are Alaska, Arkansas, Louisiana, Montana, North Carolina, South Dakota and West Virginia. Obama lost by at least 13 percentage points in all of them except for North Carolina, where Republican challenger Mitt Romney won by 2 points.

Sen. Jay Rockefeller of West Virginia announced last month that he wouldn’t seek a sixth term, creating an opening for Republicans in a state that Obama lost by 27 points. The other six Democratic senators up for re-election next year in states Romney won either are seeking re-election or haven’t announced their political plans.

Bloomberg’s Kathleen Hunter has more about the 2014 Senate landscape in this story, which notes that party leaders want to know as soon as possible about the political plans of senators who are weighing retirement.

Democrats control 55 seats in the 100-member Senate, so Republicans need a net gain of six seats to win a majority.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!