Bloomberg by the Numbers: 13

Photograph by Alex Wong/Getty Images

Sen. Frank Lautenberg, right, and Sen. Max Baucus arrive at the weekly Senate Democratic Policy Luncheon at the Capitol on Jan. 29, 2013.

That’s how many consecutive U.S. Senate elections Democrats have won in New Jersey.

The Democratic winning streak began in 1976, when Harrison Williams was elected for the fourth and final time, and was extended in 2012, when Democrat Robert Menendez was re-elected with 59 percent of the vote.

A Republican last won a Senate seat in 1972, when Clifford Case won his fourth and final term. Republican Nicholas Brady served in the Senate on an interim basis in 1982, when he was appointed to succeed Williams, who had resigned.

Democratic Senator Frank Lautenberg announced yesterday that he would not seek re-election in 2014, when he will be 90 years old. Lautenberg won five Senate elections beginning in 1982.

Newark mayor Cory Booker and state Senate President Stephen Sweeney began exploring bids for the Democratic nomination prior to Lautenberg’s announcement.

New Jersey also is one of the nation’s most Democratic states in presidential elections. President Barack Obama won 58 percent of the vote in New Jersey in 2012, his ninth-best showing among the 50 states.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!