Bloomberg by the Numbers: 10

Photograph by John Moore/Getty Images

Newark Mayor Cory Booker emerges from a voting booth after casting his ballot in the special U.S. Senate election on October 16, 2013 in Newark, New Jersey.

That’s how many former mayors will be serving in the Senate once Cory Booker is sworn in to that chamber today.

Booker, a New Jersey Democrat, will vacate the mayoralty of Newark, where he led the state’s most populous city since 2006.

Booker won a special Senate election Oct. 16 over Republican Steve Lonegan. Booker is seeking a full six-year term in the 2014 election, so he has one year to “show New Jersey voters he can transition from being mayor of Newark, where he charmed Walll Street into the start of an economic and philanthropic revival,” Bloomberg’s Terrence Dopp and Elise Young reported.

Booker’s supporters include Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, who donated to Booker’s Senate campaign and previously committed $100 million toward improving Newark’s schools.

Booker will take the seat that Republican Jeff Chiesa has held on an interim basis since June, when the death of Democrat Frank Lautenberg required Republican Gov. Chris Christie to appoint a successor.

New Jersey’s senior senator, Democrat Robert Menendez, is a former mayor of Union City.

Other ex-mayors in the Senate include Democrats Mark Begich of Alaska (Anchorage), Dianne Feinstein of California (San Francisco) and Tim Kaine of Virginia (Richmond) and Republicans Bob Corker of Tennessee (Chattanooga), Mike Enzi of Wyoming (Gillette), Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma (Tulsa) and Mike Johanns of Nebraska (Lincoln). Bernie Sanders of Vermont, a former mayor of Burlington, is an independent who caucuses with the Democrats.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!