IRS Oversight Board’s Empty Chairs

Photograph by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

U.S. Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration J. Russell George, former IRS Commissioner Douglas Shulman and Internal Revenue Service Director of Exempt Organizations Lois Lerner are sworn in before testifying to the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee on May 22, 2013 in Washington, DC.

More than 300 days after a political controversy rocked the Internal Revenue Service, President Barack Obama did something rare: He nominated someone to the tax agency’s oversight board.

His pick is Linda Millsaps, former chief operating officer at the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

If confirmed, she may not have many people to work with.

The IRS Oversight Board, created as part of an IRS restructuring in 1998, is supposed to have seven members from outside the government, along with the IRS commissioner and Treasury secretary.

Right now, five of the seven posts are vacant.

The other two are filled by people whose terms expired in 2005 and 2009 and are still serving.

Millsaps is Obama’s first nominee for the board since 2010, when the president picked Timothy Scheve, president and chief executive officer of Janney Montgomery Scott LLC. He withdrew in 2012 after the Senate didn’t vote on his confirmation.

What do you think about this article? Comment below!